The Manchester Attacks

A week ago, I awoke to the tragedy of the Manchester attacks. Over the past few years I haven’t spent much time living there, but it’s where I was born and raised, and frankly it will always be my home. Obviously, I was heartbroken when I heard the news. Living so far away made it even harder to deal with this catastrophe, because I believed that no one would understand my turmoil. 

However, as the week wore on, students and friends showed me endless compassion, and this softened my heartbreak and the homesickness that accompanied it. As I dragged myself out of my negative mindset, I became aware of the positive actions that surrounded this horrific event. In Manchester, taxi drivers turned off their meters in order to evacuate the arena. When the local hospitals ran out of food, companies and individuals supplied them with refreshments. Many tattoo artists worked for free inking the iconic Manchester bee onto the skin of numerous individuals. After the minutes silence at St. Ann’s Square, the crowd erupted into a spontaneous rendition of Oasis’ Don’t Look Back in Anger. 

There have been countless charitable actions that have proved just how amazing humans are. Unfortunately, the main thing we’ll remember about the 22nd May is the vicious attack against so many innocent people. Perhaps what we should remember about this day is the avalanche of charity and bravery that encompassed so many people during the aftermath. If we can focus on the positives, the world doesn’t seem like such a bad place. 

Leave a Reply

